Jen Silver – Journey to Winterbourne and an Ebook Giveaway!!!

18 Nov

Giveaway is now closed and the winners are: Elma Young and Devlyn!

Christmas is coming and Jen Silver has the perfect book for the upcoming holidays. Leave a comment at the end of the blog to be in with a chance of winning an ebook of Christmas at Winterbourne. Take it away Jen!

 

christmasatwinterbourneThe ideal Christmas to me is a few days in a country house hotel, log fires, mulled wine on tap, homemade mince pies, Christmas crackers and beautifully prepared meals that we haven’t had to shop for or cook (and clean up). Then, a little doze after the main meal when the most important decision is whether or not to watch the Queen’s speech.

So this was the inspiration for Christmas at Winterbourne…the cosy Christmas setting with a lesbian twist.

The book took me a long time to finish. I started it two and a half years ago and since then I have had four other books published (and another submitted to my publisher and accepted!).

What happened? Well, it was going to be a short story for Affinity’s 2014 Christmas Collection. However, after writing the first sixteen hundred words, I realised there was a full-length novel lurking.

Christmas at Winterbourne is a story that has its beginnings in the past. Characters in the book flash back to memories of the previous owner of Winterbourne House, Kim Russell. The book’s subtitle is ‘A Memoir in the Making’ so the story is as much about Kim as it is about the present day inhabitants and guests.

Kim has her own fully developed backstory in an unpublished novel—something I started writing about twenty-three years ago. But it needed re-telling from a present-day perspective. This meant I already had a cast of characters, just older (and not necessarily wiser). But the Christmas theme brought a different dimension and gave me the chance to add some new characters.

The Christmas setting won’t appeal to everyone, so it was a relief for me to see these comments by a reviewer:

…I was surprised at how much I liked this book. I am not a fan of Christmas and I was really worried that this book would be all about it. Turns out that while the book is set during that time of year, it was much, much more than that! Ms Silver writes flawlessly. The pace was great, there were no technical errors that I noticed and the story itself was just wonderful…

Readers of my other books will also notice I’ve taken a break from the north of England landscape. Christmas at Winterbourne is set in the Sussex countryside, not far from Brighton. I had started the original story when I was living in London. When I began the new one, I did have thoughts about relocating it to somewhere near Manchester, but Winterbourne was pretty much set in my mind as I could picture the village and surrounding area with visions of Virginia Woolf and Vita Sackville West frolicking in the woods.

For anyone who hasn’t seen it before, here is the back of the book blurb:

The Christmas festivities for the guests booked into Winterbourne House have all the goings-on of a traditional holiday. The only difference is that this guesthouse is run by lesbians, for lesbians.

When the guests arrive, tensions are already simmering between the house’s owner Wilma (Wil) and very pregnant partner, Gabriella. Wil has a lot on her plate…ensuring the smooth running of the events, looking after all the guests, including her in-laws and business partners. What she hasn’t planned for is a ghost from Christmas past.

jen_silver_christmasWil inherited Winterbourne from her adopted mother, Kim Russell, author of a series of successful lesbian novels. Most of the guests who stay, do so because they are fans of the author.

One guest, Sally Hunter, is on a mission to write Kim’s official biography. She meets with resistance from the people at the house she tries to interview, stirring up memories from those who knew the reclusive writer well.

For a bit of extra spice to the festivities, add in an unexpected snowstorm, a disappearing guest, and an imminent birth. Join the guests and staff at Winterbourne for a Christmas you’ll not soon forget.

So, I hope you’ll enjoy a visit to Winterbourne House. Never a dull moment where this lot are concerned (oh, and there are horses, too!).

Christmas at Winterbourne is available from: Affinity eBooks / Amazon UK / Amazon US / Barnes & Noble / Smashwords / Apple iTunes

25 Responses to “Jen Silver – Journey to Winterbourne and an Ebook Giveaway!!!”

  1. Sarah November 18, 2016 at 10:24 am #

    Sounds intriguing, are you going to publish Kim’s story too?

  2. Barbara G. November 18, 2016 at 11:48 am #

    Ooo, sounds good! Count me in for the drawing, please!

  3. Margaret Gill November 18, 2016 at 1:20 pm #

    This book is on my to buy list

  4. Margaret Gill November 18, 2016 at 1:23 pm #

    This book is on my to buy list, looking forward to reading it.

  5. Dian November 18, 2016 at 1:24 pm #

    Count me in Jen!!

  6. hannah Poole November 18, 2016 at 1:33 pm #

    How exciting!

  7. Mark November 18, 2016 at 2:05 pm #

    What a wonderful story. Where did you get the idea from

  8. Sarah Kerry November 18, 2016 at 2:09 pm #

    Sounds great. Please include me in the drawing.
    Thank you x

  9. Svetla November 18, 2016 at 2:28 pm #

    Once upon a time I liked Christmas a lot. I’d like to see it from this unique side.

  10. April November 18, 2016 at 3:41 pm #

    I would love to read this story 🙂 The outline sounds so delightful and cozy. This book definitely deserves a read accompanied by a cup of warm Earl grey tea and muffins!

  11. April November 18, 2016 at 3:51 pm #

    Such a lovely story line! I would love to read this book from beginning to the end while I drink a hot cup of coffee!

  12. Fran November 18, 2016 at 4:52 pm #

    Your ideal Christmas sounds perfect! And your idea for this novel sounds like the perfect Christmas read as well!

  13. tinna webb November 18, 2016 at 4:55 pm #

    this sounds very interesting, count me in

  14. Elma Young November 18, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

    Hot coco and a good book, what more could you want.

  15. Fran November 18, 2016 at 9:37 pm #

    Sounds great!

  16. nerdgirl1115 November 18, 2016 at 10:32 pm #

    I don’t know why, because I haven’t been excited over Christmas in a long time, but books written around Christmas always call to me.

  17. Maz Tucker November 18, 2016 at 11:06 pm #

    Looking forward to reading this

  18. Devlyn November 19, 2016 at 1:28 am #

    How did I miss this one? I enjoy reading about white Christmas having never experienced one myself. Being from Australia we are more accustomed to 38 deg C heat with cold serve food or a BBQ for Xmas lunch followed by a swim or resting in front of the air conditioner with a beer or four. Sunset is about 9pm around Christmas which makes for long days of celebration but difficult to get the youngins asleep so santa can come to them. Good times indeed. I look forward to reading about Christmas at Winterbourne.

  19. Amy Woodfield November 19, 2016 at 3:04 am #

    Can’t wait to read this!

  20. Glenda November 19, 2016 at 4:22 am #

    I enjoy Christmas stories, please count me in.

  21. judym22 November 19, 2016 at 9:57 am #

    I do like the story line, please add me to the drawing. Thank you 😊

  22. Debs November 21, 2016 at 8:57 am #

    I’ve added this book to my list of books to read 🙂 Thanks for offering a copy as a giveaway 🙂

  23. Val Williams November 21, 2016 at 5:41 pm #

    Sounds awesome

  24. kittykatwriter November 23, 2016 at 5:06 pm #

    Count me in too please

  25. Elizabeth Hodge November 23, 2016 at 6:43 pm #

    Jen,
    Your prose is marvelous! I enjoy your books and blogs so much. Please keep on writing for years and years to come.

Leave a Reply

