Welcome to the Club – a bit of research and a giveaway!

22 Jul
The-Club-by-A.L.-Brooks

Welcome to The Club—leave your inhibitions and your everyday cares at the door and indulge yourself in an evening of anonymous, no-strings, woman-on-woman action. For many of the women who visit The Club this is exactly what they are looking for and what they get. For others the emotions run high, and one night of sex can change their lives in ways they couldn’t have imagined. For Lou, her weekly visits to The Club enable her to set aside her shyness and loneliness and feel intimacy, however briefly. For Kath, caring for her mother at home, The Club is a welcome relief from her everyday toil; while Max needs distraction from her troubled relationship, even as she tries to tell herself she isn’t really cheating. Tania and Jacky find an outlet for a tricky block in their sex life. Cassie and Nina, bar staff at The Club, find themselves staying on after hours. And finally, Stephanie, struggling with her sexuality, finds her life changing in so many ways once she plucks up courage to enter. The lives of these women intersect in ways they don’t realize, and watching over them all is Mandy— the owner, whose own ghosts play a pivotal role in the existence of The Club.

“Welcome to The Club—leave your inhibitions and your everyday cares at the door.”

Aaah… it’s a tough life being an lesfic author. It’s your job to imagine attractive women meeting and falling into bed with each other. It’s hell I tell you. Then there’s the research. Just your everyday research. Here’s AL Brooks to tell you about where the background checks for her intriguing debut, The Club, took her.

~~~

Research for a novel can take you to many strange places, I’ve discovered. The Club is an ensemble piece set in a fictional lesbian sex club. There are many characters and stories interwoven throughout and as a result that led to some, er, interesting research projects.

Over the duration of my time writing The Club, I managed to rack up a Google search list that contained, amongst other things: BDSM equipment suppliers and dungeon-builders, the symptoms of anxiety attacks, the truth about female ejaculation and what real lesbian sex clubs there were in the UK for comparison purposes (I couldn’t find any evidence of any, sadly).

At the end of the process I was thankful for the fact that (a) I was doing this all from my personal laptop, rather than my work one, and (b) that I was old enough not to have my mother monitoring my internet usage.

~~~

Sound intriguing? The Club is now available on Amazon and you can also enter the draw for a free paperback and two ebooks! Just add a comment of interest below, or even better leave a comment letting AL Brooks know about your most surprising topic of research – something you never thought you needed to know!

(Giveaway closes Thursday 28th July.)

26 Responses to “Welcome to the Club – a bit of research and a giveaway!”

  1. Sarah Kerry July 22, 2016 at 9:22 am #

    Hi, I would love to win a copy of this book. It sounds very interesting. I have added it to my wish/to buy list as well. 😀
    Hmmm, my most interesting internet search was probably…the female orgasm – after reading in a book that 10% of women can not orgasm. 😮😐😯

  2. Kat July 22, 2016 at 9:29 am #

    Intriguing! I’d be interested in an ebook.

  3. Elma Young July 22, 2016 at 10:52 am #

    Well very interesting, keep it all to your self but let me at lease read about it. Hope I win

  4. Melissa Whisenant July 22, 2016 at 11:07 am #

    Hi there! I’d love to have an opportunity to win your book! I always enjoy a steamy, enticing lesbian story. And I feel like there are still far too few of them getting out to our LGBT family around the world.

    As for my juicy tidbit of knowledge, it’s not really something I researched, rather than experienced. On my trip to England a couple years ago, I had Prince William flying a helicopter directly overhead and I got to watch him land it. They were doing some type of practice drills. It was so exciting for me!!

  5. Cindy Rizzo July 22, 2016 at 11:15 am #

    Really intrigued and interested in The Club. Would love the e-book! Congrats on being published!

  6. Holli July 22, 2016 at 12:39 pm #

    I had to research how to get a skunk smell off a dog. I then found that the best way was to wash said dog in a female douche product. That then lead to having to figure out how many small bottles I needed to buy to get 4 gallons of douche.

  7. Petra July 22, 2016 at 1:00 pm #

    Sounds great…count me in please! Cheers

  8. Devlyn July 22, 2016 at 1:05 pm #

    This sounds like an intriguing story and is right up my ally.
    One night we went out with acquaintances who were a couple. One of them was wearing an internal bullet and her partner had control of the remote. I couldn’t work out why one of them kept laughing all night and the other one was squirming. After harassing them for some time they finally fessed up and I was like ‘oh no! TMI’. Apparently it was some sort of dare between them, I must admit I could never really look at them the same way again.
    Or the time we went to a lesbian engagement party and one of the women said in her cake speech that her new fiancé fit her like a glove and wiggled her fingers suggestively for all to see. Yeah again TMI. Some research I don’t need to know about.
    Cheers, I look forward to reading your book.

  9. solargrrl July 22, 2016 at 1:39 pm #

    Lucky you to ‘have’ to do all that research. I am a fan of erotica and would love to add a copy of The Club to my collection. Thanks for doing all that grinding research. 🙂

  10. Katie-Jo July 22, 2016 at 2:51 pm #

    I would love to win this book. I do love a good read on lesbian antics haha. My most recent Google search history involves mainly lesbian books and not a lot else to be honest. Keeps me entertained lol. Especially as up until last year I never read anything. Need to keep these lesbian lady loving books coming haha

  11. Angela July 22, 2016 at 9:50 pm #

    Sounds interesting book, would love to win one 🙂

  12. Karen July 23, 2016 at 3:31 am #

    had to look up medical terms for a book i was reading to understand what was going on in the book

  13. Sharon July 23, 2016 at 6:05 am #

    I think we might need fill that hole in the market. No evidence of such a club hey? Maybe we should start one – inspired by your book. X

  14. WolfPup July 23, 2016 at 10:08 am #

    I’d like to be entered to win an ebook copy 🙂

    Thanks!

  15. SueH July 23, 2016 at 11:51 am #

    Sounds intriguing, and original, You have me interested in reading it,

  16. Barbara G. July 23, 2016 at 2:04 pm #

    Sounds very educational … count me into the drawing please.

  17. Debbie Grist July 23, 2016 at 7:33 pm #

    Hello,
    I would love to win a copy of The Club.

  18. RJ July 23, 2016 at 11:58 pm #

    It sounds like you did some very interesting research for your recent book. I look forward to reading it!

  19. Sandra July 24, 2016 at 1:55 am #

    I would love to win a copy of AL Brooks’ book. And to read what her research discovered!

  20. AJ July 24, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

    I would love a copy of your book.
    My internet search was to find lesbian writers in uk

  21. Maz Tucker July 26, 2016 at 10:51 am #

    I would love a copy of the book and if i dont win, i t will be on my list to buy.

  22. Alex B Porter July 26, 2016 at 11:04 am #

    Would love to win…otherwise it’s 100% on my list to buy! 🙂

  23. Ann July 26, 2016 at 1:49 pm #

    Sounds like a fun read!!

  24. nerdgirl1115 July 26, 2016 at 2:25 pm #

    I had to research poop. Luckily it was animal poop. How to identify the animal who made the pile-o-poop.

  25. Lindsay July 27, 2016 at 1:25 am #

    I would love to have my name entered for the drawing! Thank you:)

  26. Chelsey Walker July 28, 2016 at 4:01 am #

    OMG this sounds amazing and exactly what I need to read right now! Definitely added to my wish list

Leave a Reply

