Jen Silver guest post and book giveaway

29 Apr

We have Jen Silver with us today to talk a little about her new book The Circle Dance. And because she’s just got her mitts on her author copies she’s being fabulous and giving away two shiny paperbacks. So have a read and leave a comment to enter the draw. Take it away Jen!

Circling and cycling

circle_finalMy fourth book, The Circle Dance, was published in March, coming out hot on the heels of the third book in what is now called The Starling Hill Trilogy – Carved in Stone.

Although set in the same area, in and around Hebden Bridge in West Yorkshire, The Circle Dance is a completely different story with a new set of characters. There’s no actual circle dancing in the novel (sorry to disappoint any enthusiasts of this activity). I could just as easily have named it The Cycle Dance, as one of the main characters cycles to work – a quite challenging journey between Hebden Bridge and Huddersfield.

Cycling is big around here even though any journey will involve negotiating steep hills to move between the deep valleys. A lot of weekend cyclists use the canal towpaths for a gentler pastime. My cycling days are long gone – this photo of me on my once beloved Apollo ten speed is from almost thirty years ago.

Jentbt_ten_speedAnyway, cycling aside, The Circle Dance is primarily a romance. And, as with my previous books, most of the women involved are in their mid-to-late 40s. One of the reviewers on Amazon put it succinctly with the observation that maturity doesn’t always guarantee common sense when it comes to relationships – one of the protagonists discovers the hard way that “what goes around, comes around”. (An excellent circle – and cycle – metaphor to fit the title, I thought.)

So, this is the back of the book blurb:

Jamie Steele has moved to another town trying to forget the heartbreak of losing her lover. She now has a low paying job as an IT technician, lives in a rented room, and mostly failing, at the forgetting part.

Ivana Spencer is introduced to Jamie over dinner at her friends’ house. She can see herself falling for Jamie, but Jamie hasn’t got over her ex, Sasha, and perhaps never will.

Sasha Fairfield, finds her thoughts taken up with her ex-lover of six years and thinks she wants Jamie back. But given the acrimonious nature of their breakup will Jamie want to even talk to her? After all, Jamie lost her home, her job, her car…and most importantly, the cat…all at the same time.

Follow this captivating romance as love dances through the lives of these women to its surprising conclusion.

I hope that whets your appetites to discover what happens in the story and perhaps you’ll decide to come along for the ride.

The Circle Dance is available from: Affinity eBooks / Amazon / Bella Books / iTunes / Smashwords.

jenbooksJen lives in West Yorkshire with her long-term partner whom she married in December 2014. Reading, writing, golf, archery, and taking part in archaeological digs all form part of Jen’s everyday life. Her novels, published by Affinity eBook Press, include the Starling Hill Trilogy: Starting Over, Arc Over Time, and Carved in Stone. The Circle Dance, published in March 2016, is a standalone story. Jen describes her books as romance for the older generation who believe in growing old disgracefully

29 Responses to “Jen Silver guest post and book giveaway”

  1. Maz Tucker April 29, 2016 at 10:10 am #

    I love Jen’s books, and could not put down the Starling Hill Trilogy, i read them one after the other, so really looking forward to the new one, i have already added to my wish list to buy when i have some spare cash. Keep up the good work Jen.

  2. Angela April 29, 2016 at 10:34 am #

    Would love a book, tend to buy Ebooks 🙂

  3. Sue H April 29, 2016 at 12:08 pm #

    Sounds good, love books set in England. Looking forward to reading it.

  4. Julie Foulds April 29, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

    Would love to win a copy. My late partner and myself were lucky enough to hear Jen do a reading at Sponge Sisters ,Manchester last year.

  5. Henriette April 29, 2016 at 4:27 pm #

    Love books set in England too!

  6. Glenda April 29, 2016 at 4:55 pm #

    I’d love to read this, I also like books set in England.

  7. Lisa T. April 29, 2016 at 5:00 pm #

    I really liked the West Yorkshire setting in Starting Over, and I’d love to try The Circle Dance.

  8. Chris April 29, 2016 at 5:08 pm #

    I’d love to read about 40+ women

  9. annettemori0859 April 30, 2016 at 12:58 am #

    Have read all of Jen’s books and I loved them.

  10. Patty Anderson April 30, 2016 at 2:04 am #

    Love your books. If I win, you could send me the book as an ebook which would save you the cost of postage. No matter what, cannot wait to read your books as they get published.

  11. Patty Anderson April 30, 2016 at 2:06 am #

    Would love to receive your book.

  12. Marie Foose April 30, 2016 at 2:24 am #

    Sounds good, and I love that you write older characters. It is nice to see books with women in their 40’s and 50’s 🙂

  13. judym22 April 30, 2016 at 10:23 am #

    Hi Jen, love your books, love Yorkshire, please put me in the pot. Thanks 😊

  14. Karen Hughes April 30, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

    Not yet read any books by Jen Silver, but would so love to get lost in this book as I both love and live not too far from Hebden Bridge and love cycling

  15. gertie92 April 30, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

    Sounds like another amazing story line from Jen.I love that her characters are in my age group.

  16. Svetla May 2, 2016 at 4:29 am #

    Sounds interesting. I hope there is some background cycling as well.

  17. nerdgirl1115 May 2, 2016 at 10:36 am #

    Sounds like another good one. Sign me up!

  18. Debs Armishaw May 2, 2016 at 11:12 am #

    Thanks Jen Silver for giving us an opportunity to have a copy of your book. I love the opportunity being given to own this book,
    Thanks Debs

  19. Dana May 2, 2016 at 12:28 pm #

    I would love to be entered in the drawing. I have loved jer earlier books.

  20. Cheryl H May 2, 2016 at 6:12 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful read. I’d love to read a book set in Yorkshire. 😊
    Thank you for offering.

  21. Cheryl H May 2, 2016 at 6:18 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful read. I’d love to read this book set in Yorkshire. 😊
    Thank you for giving us a chance to read The Circle Dance.

  22. Elma Young May 2, 2016 at 7:37 pm #

    Would love to receive your new book, love stories about older women.

  23. Debs Armishaw May 2, 2016 at 9:01 pm #

    Hi I thought I had already posted a comment here but cyberspace is working its magic once more and it has vanished. Anyway I love that you the authors give your readers a chance to be the recipients of your wonderful books and thanks for the opportunity. 🙂

  24. Melissa Whisenant May 2, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

    This would be an absolute treat to win an autographed copy of your new book!! Thank you for the opportunity!😊

  25. Lisa Johnston May 3, 2016 at 12:52 am #

    Common Sense is a dying art form, no matter the age.

  26. Mary McNeely May 3, 2016 at 6:02 am #

    Sounds like a good read…please add me to the list of winners 🙂

  27. Lin jacobs May 3, 2016 at 7:57 am #

    I would love to have this book. I llst my partner of 28 years, Five years ago. I would love to have someone write a love story of lesbians in their 60’s or 70’s. I bet it would sell as there many of out tbere. One of my new friends was an English war baby, Raised in the US but spent many years living wIth her partner in England.

  28. Barbara G. May 3, 2016 at 12:49 pm #

    I want, I want, I want …. Oh WHY didn’t I check this site sooner … well, it hasn’t been a ‘fort-night’ or is it ‘forth-night’? Ah, whatever … two-weeks since the last post! Well, I’d like a copy … but if I don’t win it here or missed the drawing, I’ll just special order it (along with “Carved In Stone”) … but don’t let that keep you from picking me 🙂

  29. Nancy Tusinski May 4, 2016 at 1:54 am #

    This was the first Jen Silver book I read and I loved it! I read it on my kindle and I would love a signed copy to add to my collection….and to reread! I like my kindle, but nothing is the same as a real book in one hand and a cup of tea in the other. I am looking forward to reading more by Jen Silver.

Leave a Reply

