Guest Blog & Giveaway: KE Payne Chats About Her New Novel ‘When I Knew You.’

19 Feb

It’s my pleasure to hand the UK LesFic reins over to KE Payne today. KE likes paper clips and squirrels, and lives in the Cotswolds with her missus and a menagerie of dogs and guinea pigs. After starting out writing in the YA genre, she switched across to lesbian romance, and is about to see her seventh novel – When I Knew You – published by Bold Strokes Books. KE has two paperback copies of the novel up for grabs in today’s give away. See the end of the blog for details on how to enter. As for the book itself, well I’ll let KE tell you more about it…

~ ~ ~

When I Knew YouAsh Wells has done it all. Travelled Europe, then returned to England years later to buy and renovate a ramshackle cottage in Cornwall, before settling down and starting her own successful business nearby.

Nat Braithwaite has done it all too. Aced medical school, then became a successful surgeon in London, before snagging the prestigious consultancy post in Ireland she’s dedicated her whole life to achieving.

Their lives, it seems, have both travelled the perfect path. But appearances can be deceptive, and when they meet again years later, it’s clear life has been anything but perfect for either of them.

Ash has long thought she would never be able to forgive Nat for finishing with her when they were eighteen, on the very night before their final school exams. Worn down by her parents’ insistence that Ash would always hold back Nat’s dream of being a doctor, Nat had given in to them, and in the process had broken Ash’s heart.

Flunking her exams, and with her dream of joining Nat at medical school in tatters, Ash had fled to Europe to try and get over her, returning years later to a small Cornish village to start up a tourist boat business with her friend Gabe. Meanwhile, Nat has already made a name for herself as a renowned cardiac surgeon in one of London’s top hospitals and has just gained the consultancy post she’s always believed her hard work and perseverance deserved.

At 35, their lives are now polar opposites. Or so they think.

When cancer claims their best friend Livvy, her death throws Ash and Nat together again after seventeen years apart, and in the process opens up a whole raft of old wounds that they both thought had healed years ago. Livvy writes them a series of letters, giving them a wishlist of all the things she’d wanted to do and see with her teenage daughter Chloe, but never got the chance to. Desperate to honour Livvy’s last wishes, can Ash and Nat now put the past behind them, and look to the future? Or is the past just too painful for them both to move on?

TT and When I Knew You bookWhen I Knew You is my second romance novel, after the success of Once The Clouds Have Gone (Bold Strokes Books 2014). I had the most fabulous time writing When I Knew You, and I loved getting to know both Ash and Nat. I felt as though I really knew Livvy too, mainly via the letters she writes to Ash and Nat. Livvy’s letters from the grave are heart-breaking, and while I don’t always relish writing poignant scenes, I did have a silent ‘yes!’ moment when my beta reader told me they’d made her cry. Job done. Sorry, SM!

The idea for When I Knew You came to me during a long summer’s walk two years ago, when I got to wondering how two former lovers would feel about being brought back together after so many years apart. I also wanted to explore the idea of lost teenage friendships and chances missed, and of living for the present, rather than allowing the past to get in the way.

I really felt like I travelled with Ash and Nat on their journey – both physically and emotionally – from their initial reunion just after Livvy’s funeral where they can hardly bear to look at one another, to their travels around England. The novel takes the pair on trips down memory lane from the dreaming spires of Oxford, to the museums of London, and on down to the sand dunes of a sun-drenched Cornwall, and I felt like I was with them at every single stage.

When I Knew You is now available to pre-order from the BSB website, and will be available elsewhere from 16th March. I hope you’ll enjoy Ash and Nat’s journey of discovery just as much as I did!

~ ~ ~

To be in with a chance of winning a paperback copy of When I Knew You, either leave a comment on this post, or email us at uklesfic @ gmail.com (take the spaces out of the address before you use it!)

Closing date for entries is 26th February, 12pm GMT. Good luck!

And if you’d like to read more about KE and her books, you can catch up with her on her blog.

24 Responses to “Guest Blog & Giveaway: KE Payne Chats About Her New Novel ‘When I Knew You.’”

  1. Maz Tucker February 19, 2016 at 10:59 am #

    The new book sounds great and would love to win a copy.

    • Ke Payne February 20, 2016 at 10:06 am #

      Glad you like the sound of it 🙂 Good luck with the giveaway!

  2. Devlyn February 19, 2016 at 11:31 am #

    KE, I have enjoyed all of your books and this one seems like another memorable read. Congratulations on publishing 7 books. Thanks for an intriguing blog that now has me eagerly awaiting the BSB releases for March.

    • Ke Payne February 20, 2016 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks Devlyn 🙂 I would never have imagined when I wrote the first one, that I’d ever get to seven books!

  3. Mettle fletcher February 19, 2016 at 12:53 pm #

    Look forward to getting these emails so I can find new authors and upgrade my reading list, not been disappointed with any I have bought so far, thanks👌🏻

  4. Cheshire Cat February 19, 2016 at 1:02 pm #

    The sentence “living with the present and get away the past” has really done a good impresson to capture my heart. For me, I’ve always wondered do time and distance have a power to destroy a deep and heartfelt love between two women? Like saying the more our love being fragile, the more we must cherish for the one we love now. I really like the idea of time is not healing our heartbroken, but love is. I’m also looking forward to reading this book and congratulation on your new book, KE :). And thank you UKLesfic for giving me the chance to know this amazing coming-soon book :).

    • Ke Payne February 20, 2016 at 10:08 am #

      Thanks… I hope you enjoy reading the book 🙂

  5. Karen February 19, 2016 at 1:27 pm #

    I’ve read all of your books, including the YA ones. Being a lover of all things British stuck in the US, when I found your books online, I was thrilled. I eagerly anticipate reading this one, a free copy would be icing on the cake, but if I didn’t get it free, I’m sure I’ll still buy one!

    • Ke Payne February 20, 2016 at 10:09 am #

      Thank you Karen 🙂 Good luck with the giveaway!

  6. Dawn February 19, 2016 at 2:32 pm #

    I have loved every one of your books, so far, so I am expecting nothing less from this one. No pressure though 😉 I am in Canada and don’t expect to win and have it sent here but I just wanted to let you know how much I am looking forward to this one. Keep ’em coming!

    • Ke Payne February 20, 2016 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks Dawn…no pressure 😉 I’m glad you’re looking forward to this one. I had a great time writing it, so I hope that comes across on the pages. Good luck!

  7. RJ February 19, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

    Sounds like the kind of story I love!

  8. Lisa T. February 19, 2016 at 8:28 pm #

    When I Knew You sounds like a great read! I’ve put it on my to-buy/to-read list, but I’ve love to win a copy!

  9. Cheryl February 19, 2016 at 10:25 pm #

    The new book sounds great. 🙂 Sign me up, please.

  10. Sandra February 19, 2016 at 11:58 pm #

    This book sounds great. I would love to win a copy.

  11. Angela February 20, 2016 at 12:15 am #

    I’d love to win a copy, sounds like a great book 🙂

  12. Barbara G. February 20, 2016 at 1:26 pm #

    Would love to read it! Only have read your first novel (I think it was your first) … would like a more ‘mature’ one (instead of YA, I mean :))

  13. jo February 20, 2016 at 2:13 pm #

    please count me in, I love your books

  14. Pat Bane February 20, 2016 at 7:16 pm #

    The story sounds interesting. Your stories are always good. Please enter me!

  15. Jenny Lee February 22, 2016 at 3:53 am #

    Still be purchasing this, but rather win one. 😊

  16. Debbie Boots February 22, 2016 at 6:21 pm #

    Your a new author to me so I’d love to win a copy of When I Knew You. Congrats!

  17. lesficreader February 23, 2016 at 12:38 am #

    Sounds like a great book!

  18. Anna Ficeto February 26, 2016 at 2:25 pm #

    Would love to win a copy…..fingers crossed

  19. yasmin March 11, 2016 at 7:07 pm #

    El nuevo libro suena muy bien y me encantaría ganar una copia.

Leave a Reply

