News roundup: Polari Prize winner, some top tens, a bit of blogging and a hint of envy

9 Oct

The leaves are turning and there’s a chill in the air: time for a wistful stroll through the autumn news.

~ ~ ~

therentalheartAnd hasn’t the year flown by. It doesn’t seem that long ago that Polari submissions were being sought. But the winner of the Polari First Book Prize was announced this week and it’s Kirsty Logan for her book of short stories The Rental Heart and Other Fairytales. The critically acclaimed collection was shortlisted for the Green Carnation Prize and is the winner of the Scott Prize. Of the book, Paul Burston said “The judges were enormously impressed with Logan’s command of language and skillful story telling. She writes from a variety of queer perspectives, showing us a range of outsider’s viewpoints.Diva has more on this year’s prize and the Polari evening is reviewed over at Dolores Delargo Towers.

Kirsty is based in Scotland and she is a literary editor and freelance writer. Her fiction has been published in literary magazines and anthologies and broadcast on BBC Radio 4. She also had a piece in The Guardian this week listing The best LGBT sex in literature. In the article she confesses: “I wanted this to be a list of literary smut. I wanted to choose the 10 hottest, most realistic, most beautifully written queer sex scenes ever published.” The resulting list is heavy on the literary writers, with the top spot going to Sarah Waters’ Fingersmith.

~ ~ ~

too late I love youSpeaking of lists, Kiki Archer‘s Too Late…I Love You makes The Lesbian Review’s 10 Great Books To Try.  Of the book The Lesbian Review says:

This is one of the best books I have read this year. I absolutely loved it. It is well written and will keep you guessing and Archer keeps the story tight.

I would also like to add that the flirting between the women was really lovely and well done. Often writers resort to descriptions of emotions to convey that fluttery feeling of excitement one gets from good chemistry. Archer managed a lot with dialogue alone.

I was hooked from early on right up to the last word.

~ ~ ~

Amy-Dunne-author-1-256x300Another British author getting coverage over on The Lesbian Review is Amy Dunne who answered their author profile questions. When asked what readers might find interesting about her, Amy replied “From the ages of 8 – 22 I genuinely thought I was going to become a Catholic nun. I blame Sister Act. Fortunately, I saw the light and accepted I was a lesbian instead.” Now, surely there’s a book in that.

~ ~ ~

PayingGuest_D-2-186x300The Paying Guests has hit America and so has Sarah Waters. The Daily Beast has an article on Sarah Waters: Queen of the Tortured Lesbian Romance. When asked whether the novel was a crime, love or historical story she replies:

“I think love story at its heart…I was writing part one over and over again, and it wasn’t going right. I was thinking of it as a romance, a very small story. Then I realized that even though in my other novels love and desire are strong elements, I’d never written a love story before, with the two characters tested. That crystallized it for me: The crime would push and test them. This is a love story complicated by crime.”

~ ~ ~

untrained eyeJody Klaire has been blogging and talking about her recent writing experiences:

“I learned a lot from La Vie en Bleu and from book one and two of Aeron’s series. I hope that I show that improvement in Untrained Eye. When writing a series, I noticed how easy it would be to settle into a formula. To keep the stories very similar and the characters the same.”

Jody also mentions that she will be on the Liz McMullen Show – for details on how to leave her a question to answer on the show and for the full blog post, scamper over here.

~ ~ ~

Finally,  a few things to look forward to. Bold Strokes have signed up Cari Hunter‘s third book in the Dark Peak Series. Book 2 (Cold to the Touch) is out in December and book 3 is pencilled in for January 2017. Not many details yet, but Clare Lydon has a new book out at the end of the October – All I Want for ChristmasJen Silver has two books out next year and is comfortably into the first draft of another (catch up with her news here). And if there’s still not enough lesfic to look forward to, Andrea Bramhall will fill the void – she’s just completed the first draft of Collide-O-Scope, taking a jaw-dropping eight days to complete it. (And if you suspect a smidgen of jealousy there, you’d be right – seriously, eight bloody days?! I spend that long faffing about with character names).

And with that unseemly outburst, I bid you adieu!

Eight days….how the hell…


3 Responses to “News roundup: Polari Prize winner, some top tens, a bit of blogging and a hint of envy”

  1. authoramydunne October 9, 2015 at 9:22 am #

    Eight days? I’m so jealous. You’re a writing machine, Andrea. Looking forward to reading the new book. 🙂

  2. authoramydunne October 9, 2015 at 9:23 am #

    Reblogged this on Author Amy Dunne.

  3. lynnlawler October 9, 2015 at 12:43 pm #

    Stay tuned for my interview with author Amy Dunne. http://Www.lynnlawler.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

