Baclava – guest post by Orla Broderick

17 Jan

Orla Broderick’s first novel the January Flower was long-listed for the Polari Prize and has been admired for its beautiful and lyrical prose. Orla has also just won a Scottish Book Trust’s New Writers Award and is a wee bit excited about it. Read on for her reaction and a giveaway of two paperback copies of The January Flower.

the january flowerLast week I went to Edinburgh. Alone. For a photo shoot. Yup, I travelled nine long hours from the beautiful Isle of Skye just to go and have my photo taken.

I sat in an evil evil Citylink bone shaker. My arse was numb. I was on my own and I was going on an adventure. I had had a desire to pee since I heard the news. In fact, when I took the call I shrieked so hard a little came out. I didn’t drink the water M had packed for me. Instead, as soon as I got to town I went straight to the bar I used to drink in a million life times ago. I necked a swift pint of wife beater. Just to rehydrate myself.

I won a Scottish Book Trust new writers award. This is simply marvellous but it means I really really do have to sit down and actually physically construct a new novel. The concentration involved is tremendous, for me anyway.

For my second novel I decided to be cleverer than before and actually think about the thing before writing it. I spent ages thinking up a whole host of characters then giving them storylines and then one day, sitting at the table, something fairly dreadful happened. A whole new story started to write itself. That is very annoying. It means I have no idea where this book is going. It means I just have to get up every morning and write and see if any good comes of it. Just like last time.

Part of the book trust prize is publicity and promotion, so we had to have proper professional photographs taken. I was so nervous. I had just bought some baclava to bring home and I just kept saying “baclava, baclava” over and over again in my head as Rob asked me to “stand strong, face the camera”.  I didn’t want to look too fat or too butch. I didn’t want my hair to look like a wild bush. I didn’t want my bra strap to show. But thanks to Rob, both my mother and girlfriend are downloading the photos on to photographic paper. Fantastic!

Just to say thanks for your support I am giving away two copies of The January Flower. Oh, and here’s a link to that photo

http://www.scottishbooktrust.com/writing/scottish-book-trust-training-awards/new-writers-awards-2014-orla-broderick

To enter the paperback giveaway leave a comment here or email uklesfic at gmail.com

11 Responses to “Baclava – guest post by Orla Broderick”

  1. Henrietta January 17, 2014 at 10:08 am #

    thanks for your guestblog

  2. solargrrl January 17, 2014 at 4:17 pm #

    Congratulations on the Award. Love the strong photograph, too. The excerpt is beautiful. I can see why the folks at the Scottish Book Trust selected you. Looks like I now have one more book to add to my ‘Must Read’ collection.

  3. widdershins January 18, 2014 at 4:05 am #

    This is truly the most beautiful thing I have read in a very long while. Both the excerpt here and the first few pages through the link.

    In’it wonderful when a story decides to tell itself? 😀

  4. councilhousepublishing January 20, 2014 at 6:36 pm #

    Thanks very much

  5. Peadar January 22, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

    Put me in the hat please!

  6. julietwilson January 23, 2014 at 7:54 am #

    I love the cover of the book and enjoyed reading the extract, lovely use of language.

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

  7. caroline January 30, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

    Please put me in the hat for the draw.

  8. Svetla (Czech fan of English lesfic) January 30, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

    I love getting to know new authors…

  9. simplepleasures59 June 20, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

    Hi! Always looking for new authors and I’d love to have a copy of your! Thanks for the chance to win….Dawn

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. News roundup: new authors, some teasers from Cari Hunter and Kiki Archer and interviews with Nicola Griffith and Angie Peach | UK Lesbian Fiction - January 24, 2014

    […] novel The January Flower are also up for grabs in our current giveaway (ends on the 31st). See her guest post for […]

  2. News Roundup: Our First Birthday! New Indie Sites, RJ Samuel & Jade Winters Interviews, Upcoming Events, and More! | UK Lesbian Fiction - January 30, 2014

    […] week, a reminder to get your entries in for our two ongoing book giveaways. Orla Broderick‘s giveaway for The January Flower ends on 31st January, and LT Smith‘s giveaway for Puppy Love runs until […]

Leave a Reply

