The International Nod – guest blog by V.A. Fearon

7 Nov

V.A FearonToday’s guest post comes from new author V.A. Fearon whose debut The Girl With the Treasure Chest was published last month. She has a background in psychology and criminal law and her novel is the first in a series set in London’s dangerous gangland.

My favourite part of a book reading is the question time. At this point I have already exposed so much, reading and reenacting scenes that were once so private. I find I have no choice but to relax.

And there are always wonderfully surprising questions. But the question I’m always asked is Why? Why did I write The Girl with the Treasure Chest?

There isn’t only one answer to that question but the most important one to me has to do with what I call ‘The International Nod.’

I’ve been fortunate in that I have travelled to different countries around the world (twenty at last count) and in pretty much all of these places I have given or received The International Nod.

What is this nod I speak of?

Well if, like me, you are extemely lesbian looking, I mean a definite tomboi, stud or dyke, then you will be used to those looks that we sometimes get from straightland. But The International Nod is the one we get from our counterparts, particularly our not so definite looking counterparts.

It’s such an affirming feeling to be in a remote part of the world, where the exposure to popular media is minimal, and yet still to walk past someone on a dusty road and see that flicker of recognition. It’s like a tiny current of electricity …and then you nod. And she nods back.

I’ve had this nod from wise old ladies who see me and know exactly who I am.

I’ve had it from teenage girls who suddenly realize they’re not the only one. And I’ve had it from my bois, my studs, my dykes. And with the nod comes more than just recognition. It’s that knowing that we’re out on our own but not alone. We are who we are because we have to be who we are. And we are who we are whether we see our counterparts or not, whether we know of their existence or not.

treasure chestSo back to why I wrote The Girl with the Treasure Chest.

It’s my International Nod to all those who will identify with or recognize the character Dani.

She’s not James Bond. She’s not Vin Diesel. She’s not a lothario or a player. She’s very much an individual.

She’s real.

She does exist.

And she’s one of us.

6 Responses to “The International Nod – guest blog by V.A. Fearon”

  1. szegerton November 7, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    Nice one. Yes, it does work, doesn’t it? Neither I nor my lady look lesbian particularly, but love to be out and about exchanging the nod – even beyond the image presented, there’s so often that queer aura. We’re subtle enough so that if we’re wrong the gesture goes unnoticed, but most fellow-queers are alert to it!

  2. V A Fearon November 8, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    I love that “Queer Aura” I’m picturing a rainbow shimmering around each of us. How cool is that!!

  3. lizcaruso November 9, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    I like the rainbow aura imagery. Always nod back. I somehow, and very unintentionally, end up flying under people’s “raydar” and when my nod goes unreturned, it can feel hurtful, isolating. Just as much as the complete exchange can be liberating, as you so aptly described. Thank you for writing this book.

    • V A Fearon November 11, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      You’re very welcome, Liz. And don’t feel you are flying under the “raydar”The nod sometimes takes a while to register, but yes I agree always nod back!

  4. Carla Leach November 30, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    Loved your guest blog, Veronica – will do my best to promote Dani and all luck and hopes for next adventure! Warm regards, Carla.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. eBook giveaway for VA Fearon’s The Girl With the Treasure Chest | UK Lesbian Fiction - December 4, 2013

    […] If you missed it, VA Fearon did a lovely guest post for us recently on that familiar look – the international nod. […]

Leave a Reply

