Guest Blog – Kate Snowdon

2 Aug

YouCantRunfromLoveS250New author Kate Snowdon tells us about her very different experience of starting writing and how she’s now bitten by the writing bug.

When I was asked to write something for this blog regarding my experience of writing my debut novel, You Can’t Run From Love, I wasn’t entirely sure how to approach it. The one thing I can say with certainty is that I enjoyed every minute of the experience, and I would never have predicted that.

I was probably like many new authors, not believing I’d actually had a book published until I held it in my hands. Where I might possibly differ is that I’d never had a burning desire or inner longing to write and had not even considered it. So, why did I write a novel? Good question. It’s one of two that frequently pop up, the other being, how long did it take to write? It was the disbelieving looks to the first answer and not recalling the second that prompted me to give it some thought.

It all started when my partner and I moved into a late 19th century house which was in need of renovation. Not long before this endeavour, she had been seriously ill and subsequently recovered well. Sadly, though, she experienced further setbacks in her health, and understandably the disruption of the work became too much and eventually had to stop. It was during this period I started to read the books my partner had been reading for years: lesbian romance. It wasn’t that I thought I could write one, but more that it would be fun to try! The added attraction was that it would keep me occupied and stop my partner feeling guilty at not having the energy to do the things we’d always done in the past. I am not always the most relaxing person to have around and the writing gave us the opportunity to do something we could share again. We discussed and researched the general format the book should take, and I set off on my story.

The finished product, a year later, didn’t read like any of the books we’d read and was far too long! I didn’t have any idea what I could do to improve it, yet my partner thought it was worth pursuing. That’s when we looked more closely at a publisher. At the time, Bella Books only wanted the first two chapters plus the final one. I hoped I’d receive feedback on how I could improve what I’d written. It didn’t quite work out like that. They asked to review the full manuscript. Again, I hoped for some advice, but no, they wanted to publish, and I can say in all honesty I wasn’t expecting that. It definitely needed improvement, and when I received the editor’s comments my surprise turned out to be justifiable: they were pretty damning. But I’d received the feedback I’d wished for! As I squirmed my way through them and my cut manuscript, I couldn’t disagree with anything. Well, maybe one small thing, but it seemed trivial given the circumstances. I knew I had a lot of hard work ahead of me. It was also rather unfortunate that, due to the time lapse—seventeen months since I’d finished writing—I’d already written my second book with all the same mistakes.

It took three months to complete the changes to You Can’t Run From Love. It’s an easy, fun read for those who like contemporary romance and are not looking for anything too serious. There are a few serious undertones, though, if you wish to look. My second novel, Love’s Battle, I was able to amend before it went to an editor, and I very much hope I’ve learned a great deal from working on my first, but we’ll see. It’s still with them. I think it’s better, but it is slightly different and might be difficult to compare. In theory, my third book should be better still!

I’ve been incredibly fortunate on this writing journey, the whole experience has been a joy and I’m hooked. It’s been incredibly liberating too. I had only been out to family and obviously, lesbian friends, but since starting to write I’ve emerged from my closet. Not all by my own doing, but that’s another story.

You can find more out about Kate on her shiny new blog: http://snowdonkate.wordpress.com/

2 Responses to “Guest Blog – Kate Snowdon”

  1. Devlyn August 2, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your experience Kate, it is always good to know the ‘back story’. You blog has inspired me to put your first novel on my to buy list.

    • Kate Snowdon August 3, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      Thanks Devlyn. If you do buy, You Can’t Run From Love, I very much
      hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

