Book feature: Mountain Rescue: The Ascent by Sky Croft

5 Jul

imagesSky Croft has been busy. Her debut novel, Amazonia, was published by Regal Crest last autumn, her second novel Mountain Ascent came out this spring, and her third is due out in September. She took some time out to talk to UKLesFic about her writing in general and her second novel in particular.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Writing takes up a lot of my time, but whenever I can I visit the local cinema and watch the latest releases – I’m a huge movie buff. I love tennis (I’m currently watching Wimbledon, in fact), but unfortunately a lack of skill and height (I’m only five foot) means I’ll never be much of a player – I have a feeling I’d struggle to get the ball over the net!

I’m also interested in history, and I enjoy looking around historical buildings. When I was young my parents often took me to old characterful properties, usually belonging to The National Trust or English Heritage, and I’ve carried that interest into adulthood. Castles are a particular favourite, along with churches and cathedrals.

When did you start writing and how would you describe/classify your work?

I’ve written stories since I was thirteen– it’s always been a form of escapism for me. Most of my work is action/adventure with a good dose of romance thrown in. That said, I like most genres – I had a lot of fun writing Shadowstalkers (out in September) which falls into the supernatural category.

My leads are always strong women, despite having adversity in their lives. No one goes through life without their fair share of troubles, and I try to make my characters reflect that.

As for the romance, I like the romantic relationship to be a source of strength, and for both women to gain equally from the partnership.

Your new book Mountain Rescue: The Ascent is a romance between a doctor and climber who work on a mountain rescue team in Scotland. Did you need to research the area and the characters or is it based on a setting and careers you know well?

I’ve been holidaying regularly in Scotland since I was a child (my most recent holiday being in June this year to the west coast of Scotland). It’s a beautiful place and the scenery is breathtaking. The village in Mountain Rescue: The Ascent is fictional, though I used many attributes from different places I’d visited in Scotland to give myself, and hopefully readers, an image of the setting.
I researched what a Mountain Rescue team does, from the kinds of incidents they can be involved in, the equipment they use, the types of vehicles that are at their disposal – ground and air support – down to what they wear. As for the climbing aspect, my brother-in-law is a climber, so his knowledge and expertise were of great value. I also went climbing with him, so I could experience it for myself.

What have readers liked about the book?

People seem to like the mix of romance, action, and drama. Many have liked the fast-paced action element of the rescues – people have commented that they couldn’t put the book down.

I’ve had a lot of positive feedback about the characters themselves, especially the leading ladies. One reader commented that she could fall in love with either Saber or Sydney, which, as a writer, I took as a huge compliment.

The book is the first in the Mountain Rescue series. Can you give us a taster of the other books to come?

In Mountain Rescue: The Ascent you got a taste of Saber’s family, the negative reaction to her sexuality. In book two it will be a complete contrast, as we get to meet Sydney’s family, who are fully supportive of Sydney and her relationship with Saber. However with family there is always drama, and Sydney will face a challenge on the home front. The Mountain Rescue team will of course have more accidents to deal with, as they will in every book.

Further on in the series I’d like to revisit the north slope, where Charlie (Saber’s former climbing partner) was badly injured. I’m not short of ideas for subsequent books, I just have to decide which to go with!

Are you working on anything else at the moment?

A few things. I’ve just submitted the Amazonia sequel to my publisher. I intend to start on the Mountain Rescue sequel shortly, then after that I’ll likely do a follow up to Shadowstalkers. I get quite attached to my characters, so I’m looking forward to revisiting them. As long as I still have ideas and people keep reading the books, I’d like to do many more sequels.

Thanks for talking to us, Sky. You can find out more about Sky and her work on her website.

4 Responses to “Book feature: Mountain Rescue: The Ascent by Sky Croft”

  1. Devlyn July 5, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    Thanks for blogging Sky, I read Mountain Rescue: The Ascent and I did fall in love with your MC and their love story. Im a huge fan of romance and this one is in my re-read list.

    • Hannah July 5, 2013 at 11:56 am #

      Great interview. Thank you ladies!

  2. Solargrrl July 6, 2013 at 3:15 am #

    Looks like an exciting book. It is on my wish list now!

  3. Sky July 6, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Thanks to all at uklesfic for the interview, especially Clare Ashton. Thanks for the comments – it’s nice to hear from Devlyn again 🙂

Leave a Reply

